What are the normal NHL divisions?

Things stayed like that until 2012, when the league instituted the structure we have today: The Eastern Conference, which is now comprised of the Atlantic and Metropolitan divisions. The Western Conference, which is now comprised of the Central and Pacific divisions.

What are the regular NHL divisions?

The four division names are Atlantic, Metropolitan, Central and Pacific. The Atlantic and Metropolitan divisions make up the Eastern Conference and each division has eight teams. The Central and Pacific divisions make up the Western Conference and have seven teams in each division.

How many divisions are in NHL 2021?


There are four divisions — the North, West, Central, and East — with the North featuring all seven Canadian teams. Here’s how it all looks: Along with the divisions, the playoff format will also have a different look.

Which NHL division is toughest?

So, which is the toughest division – the Metropolitan, or the Central? It’s close – and you well may be able to make a convincing argument for either one – but for this observer, it’s the Metro that’s the toughest.

IT\'S FUNNING:  What do you wear to a box seat at a hockey game?

What is the best NHL division?

The Central Division has been the best division in the NHL in recent history. The last three Western representatives in the Stanley Cup Finals and two of the last three winners have come from the West’s Central division.

What are the 4 hockey divisions?

It’s time to welcome back the good old Pacific, Atlantic, Metropolitan, and Central divisions. Here’s how the NHL’s realigned realigned divisions stack up, from weakest to strongest.

What division is the Seattle Kraken in?

The Seattle Kraken are a professional ice hockey team based in Seattle. The Kraken compete in the National Hockey League (NHL) as a member of the Pacific Division in the Western Conference and began play during the league’s 2021–22 season.

Are the Seattle Kraken in NHL 21?

NHL’s New Expansion Team, The Kraken, Comes To NHL 21 Through HUT Mode. … The National Hockey League now has 32 teams, as the Seattle Kraken have completed their expansion draft and assembled a team for the upcoming season.

How is the NHL divided this year?

For the 2021–22 season the NHL regular season formula was adjusted to account for the addition of the Seattle Kraken. Each team plays either three or four games against the other teams in its division (a total of 26 games) as well as playing all non-divisional teams in their own conference thrice (24 games).

What division are the Toronto Maple Leafs in?

The Hockey Writers is a collective of more than 100 writers bringing you the best coverage of all 31 NHL teams as well as junior and international hockey. Founded in 2009, The Hockey Writers has quickly become one of the largest and most respected go-to hockey sites on the web.

IT\'S FUNNING:  You asked: How popular is hockey in Detroit?

Who is first in the metropolitan division?

Template:2021–22 NHL Metropolitan Division standings

Pos Team v t e Pts
1 Washington Capitals 33
2 Carolina Hurricanes 31
3 New York Rangers 29
4 Pittsburgh Penguins 25

How many games are in an NHL season?

The 868-game regular-season schedule — 56 games per team — will conclude Saturday, May 8, when 30 of the League’s 31 teams take to the ice. A complete listing of each team’s 2020-21 regular-season opening game is below and the complete 2020-21 regular-season schedule is attached.